Business transactions between members since January 2016 - $ 2,486,463.44

Volunteer Awards

Five Star Program
Each day MPI Toronto Chapter members put on one of their many hats and tirelessly volunteer their time towards leading the chapter. MPI Toronto Chapter volunteers exemplify the strong support and participation needed to help the chapter and industry grow and succeed.
The 5 Star Program is based on the 5 points of a star. Volunteer recognition points are as follows:

  • Commitment/Dedication – a reliable, self-motivated person who contributes to the committee through feedback and taking on tasks
  • Team Player – a person who respects others and their opinions, someone who asks questions and is a good listener
  • Passionate – a positive, passionate person who is enthusiastic about MPI
  • Accountability – a prepared person who keeps the lines of communication open at all times and does what they say they will do
  • Time Availability/Attendance – a dependable person who is committed to MPI’s values and the association by attending/contributing to committee meetings and MPI activities. 

Volunteers will be nominated once a year and recognized through a variety of mediums: biographies and pictures in the e-newsletter, their name on the big screen at meetings and a 5 Star Program nominee sticker on their name badge at monthly meetings.
Past Five Star Award Recipients
2013-2014 Recipients:
Membership  -  Natalie Cirallo
TEC - Kristi Contini
Signature Series -  Cheryl Gateman
Holiday Gala - Helena Gomes
Awards - May Holmes, CMP
NMID - Danyelle MacCulloch
Sponsorship - Tamer Mecky
Volunteer Leadership Summit - Karen O’Conner
Professional Development - Michelle Posner, CMM
ECOS - Lindsay Press
Communications - Sharda Sukdeo, CMP
CMP Study Group - Shannon Valeriote, CMP
2014-2015 Recipients:
Membership - Ellen Ettinger
TEC - Helen Frank
NMID - Tiffany Gilmore
Signature Series - Claire Kurek
Golf - Kevin Parker
Communications - Lindsey Press
Professional Development- Quentin Stossel
Awards - Elise Taylor
Holiday Gala - Lina Thompson
CMP Study Group - Shannon Valeriote, CMP

2015-2016 Recipients:
Awards Gala - Johanna Sharpe
Communications - Carly Silberstein
Global Meetings Industry Day - Amy Tough, CMP-HC
Golf - Rodney Hubenig
Holiday Gala - Lyne Montpetit, CMP
Membership - Christina Northcott, CMP
Professional Development - Kiran Balladin
Signature Series - Erin Reid
Toronto Education Conference - Tiffany Gilmore, CMP

2016-2017 Recipients:
 Awards Gala - Caleigh Perks
CMP Study Group - Amy Duffy, CMP
Communications Committee - Diane Julien
Global Meetings Industry Day - Lynn Miedzik
Holiday Gala - Katrina McKnight
Membership - Darryl Foster
Toronto Education Committee - Mary Sistilli

SOAR Scholarship Award
The purpose of the SOAR Scholarship Program is to recognize an individual MPI Canada Chapter member who has demonstrated exceptional volunteerism to their MPI community. One MPI volunteer member will receive a SOAR Scholarship for each MPI Canada Chapter, on an annual basis. Scholarship recipients will be selected by local chapter boards. Scholarship criteria will be developed by MPI Foundation, and administered by MPI Canada Chapters. Candidates are chapter members in good standing. Criteria includes:

  • chapter volunteer contributions
  • leadership
  • commitment and dedication. 

The individual recipient will receive a framed certificate and a $500 CDN scholarship to be used for MPI programs and services: i.e. Membership, CMP Program Support, CMM Program Registration, WEC registration, and Chapter Education Programs. Scholarship recipients will be announced to their respective chapters, and if appropriate at the Annual Chapter Awards programs. Recipients agree to provide a written article, and/or video on the importance of volunteerism and encouraging fellow members to do the same

Past SOAR Scholarship Recipients:
2014 - 2015
Shannon Valeriote, CMP
2015 - 2016
Christina Northcott, CMP
Diane Julien